For starters this is something we as human beings have been doing since the dawn of time. Placing people in to neat little pockets of groups in hopes of better understanding them or not wanting to understand them. For example you are placed into a group for what class you are based on your economic standing. Same goes for religion based off of your faith or lack there of. As with everything the eyes of the beholder will judge all people. Example if someone is on welfare, most not all people just deem them as being to lazy to get a job. But in all honesty unless you live in their shoes you have no real idea what brought them to this place to begin with. The biggest one out of all of them is gender based groups. The automatic roles that are suppose to be played out for whether you are born with a penis or a vagina. Just because I am a woman, does not mean I am here to serve men, cook, clean, sew, etc. My point with this is it is within all people to assume roles or status based on the way we were taught to think.
Now I come to the point on why I began this blog to being with. It has recently been brought to my attention that their is still an epic battle of North vs. South going on here within the US. Seriously that war ended in 1865 from what I thought until recently. Can't people just be people? I know that is asking way to much. We are all the same country just different cultures.
If your are from a southern state, this is something to be proud of. However, to announce oneself as a confederate or fly a rebel flag is insulting to not only yourself but to anyone with common decency. The war was base off of simple human rights as to whether or not we are allowed to own slaves. How the freak anyone can have pride in taken away the rights of another human is baffling to me to say the least. This is not at all worthy of praise. I do not call people those southerners, so why is the term damn yankee's so freely used? Do people realize this is a derogatory word that was used during the civil war to bash people that were for the Union? The instance you lower yourself to call people Yankees is the instant you become the enemy and should then be equally meet with the term stupid southerns, because in all honesty that shows a level of complete arrogance.
Why is that because history lessons will teach anyone that Damn Yankee's was a derogatory reference for Northerners. It is only said by those people in the south to insult others.
If you do not want to be looked at as stupid and or dumb, please to not stick yourself in that category.
Sorry but this southern pride stuff is a convoluted idea that depicts the glory days of the Antebellum south. It should not be honored in anyway. Instead it should be despised for its racism and morally off base culture that is was during that time.

No comments:
Post a Comment